Reno Divorce Attorney
Joint petition Nevada divorce
- In Nevada, including in Reno, a divorce is often filed in the form of a Joint Petition for Divorce (NRS 125.182) when both parties agree to a divorce. A Joint Petition is the simplest way to file and obtain a divorce in Nevada when both parties agree to all terms of the divorce, including child custody, child support, visitation, and property division (if applicable) and when both parties agree to sign the divorce documents.
- Both parties must sign the Joint Petition and the Decree of Divorce. Once the Joint Petition and Decree have been signed and notarized, the Joint Petition is filed with the Court and the Decree of Divorce submitted for the signature of the judge assigned to your case. Once the judge signs the Decree, the clerk files it and your divorce becomes final.
- Your divorce can be obtained in as little as one week using a Joint Petition depending on the judge to whom your divorce case gets assigned. , though it can take up to three weeks if the court is extremely busy or the judge to whom your case was assigned is also very busy. The average is about 10 days.
We do not file Complaints for Divorce for residents of Washoe County if the Defendant is likely to contest the divorce and also resides in Reno (Washoe County). This is because the Defendant has choice of venue and if Defendant insists on the contested divorce moving forward in Reno, it would be too expensive for Mr. Smith to fly to Reno for hearings in your divorce case.
We do often file Joint Petition divorces for Reno residents all the time in either Reno or Las Vegas, and we can help you with any uncontested divorce matter.
Mr. Smith – Always an Excellent Job
I met Mr. Smith several years ago. Not only is he a great attorney, but now a good friend. I initially had him help me with family law matters and corporate matters and he always did an excellent job. One of the very few good attorneys left out there.R.E. Las Vegas, Nevada
File a joint petition in Reno
(both parties must sign)
From $350 plus court costs*
- Licensed Nevada Attorney Since 1985 Represents You
- With Property $350
- With Children $499
- Full Service! You sign, we do the rest!
- Pay Only Half Now
- Call 702-420-7052
- We are in Las Vegas an we e-file in Reno.
A word from Mr. Smith
Hi, my name is James E. Smith, Esq. I’ve been practicing law in the State of Nevada for the past 23 years. During that time, I’ve helped countless people with their Nevada divorces.
I believe in access to affordable legal help for all and I am dedicated to bringing you the highest-quality attorney representation possible — at a price that makes sense to you in the current economy.James E. Smith, Esq.
Resident witness needed for all Nevada Divorces
- At least one of the parties in a Nevada divorce must have resided in Nevada for a minimum of six-weeks just prior to the filing of either a Joint Petition or a Complaint for Divorce as per Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS 125.020).
- The Court requires proof of your residency in the form of a Resident Witness Affidavit. The individual who signs this sworn Affidavit in front of a notary must be another Nevada resident who knows you to have lived in Nevada for a minimum of six weeks before the date your divorce was filed.
Attorney James Smith has been practicing law in Nevada since 1985. He is licensed in Nevada and California and holds a BV rating (highest possible) with Martindale-Hubbell®, the authoritative resource for information on the worldwide legal profession. He is also BBB A+ rated and has been for the past 24 years.
We have filed thousands of divorces and annulments over the years, at an average of 390 cases per year! Because of this, we can take in, file, and process cases quickly. We have a propriety system designed to move cases along at the fastest possible pace within the constraints of Family Court.
Our case intake paralegals are well-trained and can answer a huge majority of your questions. Those they cannot answer will be answered by the attorney, whose office is next door to the intake paralegals’. They often discuss cases as part of the decision process of whether or not to accept a client. If we can’t help you, we don’t take your money. Call us at 702-420-7052 for your free consultation.
What we guarantee when you file your divorce through us:
- Refund of attorney fees (not court costs, or other costs) if both parties signed the documents, and your divorce is not granted after filing at court. You must have met all the court’s requirements, as well as followed the advice of the attorney before you can request a refund.
- Prompt response to your phone calls and e-mails even after you pay us!
- Dedication to serving your needs with compassion, to the best of our ability and power.
- Make two payments instead of one (unless you want to pay in full).
- We guarantee prompt and courteous service by our trained, certified, and qualified staff. Our goal is to get you through this quickly so you can move on with your life.
- We NEVER share your information with anyone other than those required to know for processing your case through the courts (the attorney, our staff members working directly on your case, the court clerks, and your judge).
*Court Costs (currently $326 for Joint Petition, and $364 for a Complaint) and cost of process service and publication (when the other party won’t sign or cannot be found) is additional: process service in the U.S. average cost is $150; publication average $125. Out of country service costs vary by country and are individual to each case. **Refund pertains ONLY to cases accepted after January 1 2016. Should your divorce case be denied by the court, you will have the option to request a refund of the payment you made for our services. We will give a courtesy refund based on non-performance on our part. Court filing fees, court costs, process server fees, publication fees, translator fees and any other provider fees are never refundable. See Privacy Policies/Terms for full details